Hello world!

Jump right in: the water’s fine!

Alright, I will make a concerted effort not to be so cheesy in the future, but the current atmosphere surrounding the world of water is pretty tense, so why not start off on the lighter side.

Over the next few years I will be studying water like it’s my job. Well, it is, and it will be, for a long time to come. I hope to come away from this experience in the desert (Master’s program in Hydrology at New Mexico Tech) with as much knowledge, respect, and enthusiasm, for the the most important natural resource on the planet.

The appearance of water over 3.5 billion years ago made our existence possible, and our abuse, misuse, and overuse of this incredible molecule may be  our greatest misstep as a species. And last.

As my fellow hydrology grad students and I plunge into derivations and models, theories and methods, I hope this blog can keep us, and everyone, focused on the big-picture. It’s easy to forget that there are real consequences of pumping, polluting, and attempting to manipulate water above, upon, and within the Earth. Billions of people scattered across the globe suffer from shortages, floods, displacement, disease, famine and other heart-breaking conditions directly related to hydrologic processes and anthropogenic modifications .

I look forward to being a small part of this discussion. Along the way I can only hope that the input of the readers, their insight and concerns, will bring us closer to being part of the solution.

Whether it’s the science, the history, the politics, or the miscellaneous fun facts about water, I’m hydro-ecstatic! I hope you are, too…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. lifeiseverything says:

    Hey, welcome to the awesome world of blogging! I linked to your blog in mine (http://lifeiseverything wordpress com/), if thats ok? I can’t wait to read more!

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks! I am really excited but it will be a few more days before I really get going. Finally getting internet at my house tomorrow, and just got swamped with research related work. Be patient, but I look forward to hearing more from you!

  2. terry hendrickson says:

    sarah— what a great idea for a blog!!! what a great way to get everybody involved and have fun doing it. keep up the great work.

  3. Cian says:

    Great! I’m thrilled to see more hydro science folks blogging. I look forward to your posts.

Leave a comment